The Social Media Collage app displays a live feed of images from Twitter, Instagram, and Facebook posts. Images are displayed in a collage which animates to depict a single featured or new post.
Contents of this guide:
You can access the Social Media Collage by going to the Apps drop-down at the top of the screen from anywhere in the Enplug dashboard.
If you go to the Social Media Collage without selecting a display group first, you will see the Library view of all app configurations in your account.
Setting it Up
The Social Media Collage works by using hashtags or user accounts to pull posts into your feed. For example, if you add the Twitter hashtag "#enplug", all tweets that include that hashtag will be pulled into your feed.
Since each feed is a bit different, we've split them into sections to explain in as much detail as possible how to set them up. Please see the links below for detailed instructions on setting up each feed:
Once you have set up your feeds, you can view all posts by clicking the Manage Posts button in the upper right corner of the page.
In the Live Posts column to the left, you'll see all posts currently in your feed. Each of the 3 feeds can bring in up to 50 posts each; when a feed brings in more than 50 posts, the oldest posts will be removed. This keeps your feeds up to date and relevant.
There are different ways to interact with the posts:
- To Favorite the post, click on the heart icon next to the 3 dot icon
- To Delete a post, click on the trash icon at the bottom right of the post
- To Ban the associated user, click on the 3 dot icon and select "Ban User"
Note: The "Ban" option is hidden if:
1) You are trying to ban the account you added as a feed.
2) Unavailable for Facebook posts.
- You can also view the post on the site of origin via the 3 dot icon
To view your Favorited posts, click on the heart icon. This will only display what you have Favorited. These Favorited posts won't be pushed out no matter how old they are - they will only be removed if you unFavorite or Delete them.
If you have Pre-Approval turned on for any of your feeds, the posts for your feed will appear on the Needs Approval column to the right. This column lists all your posts that are pending your approval before they show up on the screen.
You have the option to set Pre-Approval and Profanity Filters. When you create your configurations, you can control the content that is being displayed. To access these options, click on the Settings button.
To Approve a post click on the check mark in the lower right hand corner of the post.
Settings & Customization
The Settings section is where you'll set up your social feeds, but it also includes other customization options for the app as a whole such as:
- You can now change the Size of your image that's displayed on your screen
- You can change the size of the Outline on your images
- You can control the Speed of the images displayed
Below the Content section is the Style your Wall section, which will allow you to choose premade Enplug or custom themes for your posts.
You can also edit or delete any custom theme you have. You can simply hover over any custom theme created previously, and click on the "Edit” or “Delete" button. If you do not have any custom themes, you can edit a preexisting Enplug theme by hovering over it and by clicking on the “Edit theme” button.
Banning users is available for Facebook and Twitter inside of Social Media Collage. You can access the list of banned users by clicking on the “Banned users” link to the top right corner on the page where you can manage your posts. This link only shows up if you have banned at least one user.
This lists all banned users, including what social network they are from and links to view their profiles. Any and all posts from banned users will not show up on the display. If you need to un-ban a user at any time, you can use the Unban button to remove them from the Banned list.
Different feeds have slightly different timing for posts to show up. Twitter is the fastest, usually coming in almost instantly. Instagram may take 1-3 minutes for posts to show up. Facebook posts, because they're updated less frequently, get pulled in every 5-10 minutes.
Only public posts will show up on the Social Media Collage. If someone has a private profile, their post will not be pulled into the feed.