Directory

The Directory app allows you to set up a custom directory - perfect for lobbies, offices, and any building with tenants. This app can also be used for easily structuring lists of upcoming events.

Contents:

Note: This guide assumes you've already selected a display group. To learn more about navigating between display groups, see the Dashboard 101 article.

To get started, first, click the Apps dropdown, then the Explore Apps section to select the Directory app from the list of apps.

Adding Content

First, you'll be prompted to add the content for the directory.

  1. Choose a content model:

    The Floors structure organizes your list of content into sections. You'll be able to label both the list items and the sections themselves. Click Add Floor at the top to create your first section, and Add Room to the right of the section to add additional rooms to that section as needed.

     

    The Rooms structure doesn't organize your list by floor, instead just providing a straightforward list of content. If you choose this, click Add Room to add your first item.



    Switching content models can be tricky. Learn more here.

  2. Choose the number of columns you'd like the content to show in. If you have a long list of items, we recommend 2 columns for Landscape screens.

    Note: Only 60 rows may be used for one-column directories. Up to 120 rows may be used for two-column directories.

    Choose how you'd like your content sorted. You have the option to sort by the Name of the room (for example, Conference Room, Law Offices), or by the Location of each room (for example, 102, 103, 104).

    Alternately, you can choose None, and add the items in the order you'd like. Move the items around at any time using the up and down arrows next to each item.

Styling Settings

To select header and content styling for your directory, click the Settings button in the top right corner.

Header Style

If you'd like to display a header at the top of your directory, check the Display Header checkbox at the top of the Header Style section.

You can choose whether you'd like your directory header to show up with a background color and text overlay, or your own header image. If you choose Color, you can select the background and text colors, and enter the header title text you'd like to show. If you choose Image, you can upload an image of your choice.

For the header to fit properly, we recommend the following resolutions for header images:

  • Portrait screens: 1080 x 200px
  • Landscape screens: 1920 x 200px

Content Style

You can also choose how you'd like to style your content, as shown in this screenshot:

 

As shown above, these include:

Borders

  • None: No borders will show up between the entries.
  • Light: White borders will separate the entries.
  • Dark: Black borders will separate the entries.

Text and background colors

  • Floor Divider Color: The background for the floor names
  • Floor Divider Text Color: The text color for the floor names
  • Room Text Color: The text color for the room names

Finally, as with the header, choose whether you'd like your directory to have a single color background, or an image background.

Note that we haven't turned the app on yet! To turn this app on, click the switch in the upper right corner. First, however, it may be a good idea to back up your content in case you want to experiment with changes in the future.

Backups

The backup feature allows you to add or remove content without worrying about losing your previously designed directory. You can also use the backup feature to keep multiple versions of your directory saved, in case you need to switch back and forth between different versions. You can create up to five backups.

To create backups of your content at any time, click the Backupsbutton in the top right corner of the page. Then, click the blue Create Backup button that appears.

To preview a certain backup at any time, click the date that it was created. This will show the associated content below that backup entry.

 

To restore a certain backup at any time, click the Restore button next to that backup. This will overwrite your existing content with the content from that backup. To delete a backup, click the trash can icon next to that backup entry.

Tips & Tricks

When switching content models, be aware: switching from Rooms to Floors will delete all content.

Switching from Floors to Rooms will delete each floor section, but will retain all room items. For this reason, it's best to choose your preferred content model before adding in your content, so that you don't have to worry about switching back and forth.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Powered by Zendesk